Sync English Novelists, S


English Novelists.—S.

Sir Walter Scott

Here is the complete list of Scott's novels, in the order of publication. Someday each entry on the list will link to the book.

Waverley; or, 'Tis Sixty Years Since. In three volumes. Edinburgh, 1814.
Volume I, third edition (still 1814).

Volume II.
Volume II, third edition (still 1814).

Volume III.
Volume III, fourth edition (still 1814).

Guy Mannering; or, The Astrologer. In three volumes. Edinburgh, 1815. —Like Waverley, Guy Mannering was immediately popular and went through at least four editions in its first year.
Volume I, third edition.
Volume I, fourth edition.

Volume II, second edition.
Volume II, third edition.

Volume III, second edition.
Volume III, third edition.

The Antiquary
The Black Dwarf
The Tale of Old Mortality
Rob Roy
The Heart of Midlothian
The Bride of Lammermoor
A Legend of Montrose
The Monastery
The Abbot
The Pirate
The Fortunes of Nigel
Peveril of the Peak
Quentin Durward
St. Ronan's Well

Redgauntlet. A tale of the eighteenth century. By the author of "Waverley." In three volumes. Edinburgh, 1824.
Volume I.
Another copy.

Volume II.
Another copy.

Volume III.
Another copy.

Redgauntlet. A tale of the eighteenth century. By the author of "Waverley." Complete in one volume. Boston, 1824. —With no copyright agreement between England and the United States, American editions were always pirated, though legally so. This Boston edition was published the same year as the first English edition.

The Betrothed
The Talisman
Woodstock, or, The Cavalier
St Valentine's Day, or, The Fair Maid of Perth
Anne of Geierstein, or, The Maiden in the Mist
Count Robert of Paris
Castle Dangerous

Sir Philip Sidney.

The Countesse of Pembrokes Arcadia. Written by Sir Philip Sidney Knight. Now the third time published, with sundry new additions of the same Author. London: William Ponsonbie, 1598.

Charlotte Smith

The Old Manor-House. A novel. In four volumes. Third edition. London, 1822.
Volume I.

Volume II.

Volume III.

Volume IV.

The Wanderings of Warwick. London, 1794.

Tobias Smollett
The History and Adventures of an Atom. In two volumes. London, 1769.
Volume I.
Another copy.

Volume II.
Another copy.
—The copies at the Internet Archive are dated 1749, yet they are clearly the same edition as the Google Books copies, and 1769 is the actual year of publication. It is probably a matter of a transposed numeral: XL accidentally put for LX.
Adventures of Peregrine Pickle. In which are included, Memoirs of a Lady of Quality. In four volumes. London, 1751.
Volume I.

Volume II.

Volume III.

Volume IV.

Lawrence Sterne

The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman. —Original edition, published in 9 volumes beginning in 1759.

Vol. I
Second edition, 1760
Fourth edition, 1760

Vol. II
Second edition, 1760
Fourth edition, 1760

Vol. III (1761)
(Another copy)

Vol. IV (1761)
(Another copy)

Vol. V (1762)

Vol. VI (1762)
(Another copy)

Vol. VII

Vol. VIII (1765)

Vol. IX (1767) — Direct link to a PDF file from a Japanese collector.

Here is a complete one-volume edition of the whole work, with Sir Walter Scott's life of Sterne, printed in Paris in 1832.

A Sentimental Journey Though France and Italy. By Mr. Yorick.

Vol. I (1768)

Vol. II (1768) 256 lines | 672 words | 11,723 chars